Down Point Audio Tour
Albert Styron’s Store
One of five general stores on Ocracoke during the first half of the twentieth century, Albert Styron’s store served the need of people living Down
Assembly of God Church
The Assembly of God Church carries on the Pentecostal tradition begun in 1938 on Ocracoke Island.
Influenced by both New England turn-of-the-century resort architecture and by Colonial Williamsburg style, the Castle was built in the mid-1950s by industrialist Sam Jones.
This house is representative of the basic island home, the historic “story and a jump,” a diminutive frame house, one and a half stories high.
Captain Bill Thomas House
In the harbor of St. Kitt’s in the Caribbean, Captain Thomas spied a stately home with a wide veranda and decided to have a replica built for himself and his new bride back on Ocracoke.
Howard Street is a North Carolina treasure. No other street has the history and charm it boasts.
Built in 1901, the upper floor of the main section was used as the meeting room for the Odd Fellows Lodge. The lower floor was used as a schoolhouse.
Ocracoke Audio Tours
Take a walking tour of Ocracoke hosted by Philip Howard and Lou Ann Homan.
Ocracoke Island’s most prominent landmark is its 75′ tall lighthouse built in 1823.
The story of Old Quawk has been told on Ocracoke Island since at least the early nineteenth century.
Springer’s Point is the last maritime forest remaining in Ocracoke Village. Off its shore is Teach’s Hole, where Blackbeard’s last battle took place.
In 1883 the US government established the island’s first Life Saving Station near Hatteras Inlet.